Marc Jacobs, Beyoncé, Brandon Maxwell, and More Take Home CFDA Awards

Congrats to the winning talents, real and otherwise!

Only two-and-a-half months ago, Diane von Furstenberg gathered the New York fashion elite to announce the “real” and emerging designers up for this year’s CFDA Awards. And tonight, after a star-studded ceremony hosted by funny man-cum-hottie Joel McHale, the winners have been revealed. Marc Jacobs, who reminded us all that fashion is alive and well in New York during fashion week, took the Womenswear Designer of the Year honor, while Thom Browne earned the menswear accolade. The Accessories Designer of the Year trophy was given to Mansur Gavriel’s Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel (honestly, who doesn’t want one of their minimalist bags?) who recently hinted at their interest in womenswear, and the one and only Beyoncé, who slipped in the back door wearing a sequin Givenchy suit, was revealed as 2016’s Fashion Icon winner. (No wonder the CFDA was so secretive about this year’s celebrity pick.) 

After arriving with none other than Naomi Campbell (Naomi Campbell!) on his arm, LVMH Prize finalist Brandon Maxwell took the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, while Orley brought home the up-and-coming menswear trophy. And finally, the Swarovski Award for Accessories design was bestowed upon footwear maestro Paul Andrew.

Congratulations to all of the winners, including honorees Norma Kamali (Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award), Gucci’s Alessandro Michele (International Award), Donna Karan (Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert), Business of Fashion’s Imran Amed (Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard), and the late David Bowie, who was remembered with an all-out performance and the Board of Directors’ Special Tribute honor.

See the full list of winners and nominees below, and tune in later for our full coverage of New York fashion’s big night. 

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Marc Jacobs

Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra; Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte; Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row; Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Thom Browne

Nominees: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne of Public School; Marcus Wainwright and David Neville of Rag & Bone; Tim Coppens; Todd Snyder; Thom Browne

Accessories Designer of the Year: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel of Mansur Gavriel

Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra; Irene Neuwirth; Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler; Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row; Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel of Mansur Gavriel 

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Brandon Maxwell

Nominees: Ryan Roche; Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia of Monse; Brandon Maxwell 

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, and Samantha Orley of Orley

Nominees: Rio Uribe of Gypsy Sport; John Elliott; Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, and Samantha Orley of Orley

Swarovski Award for Accessories Design: Paul Andrew

Nominees: Gigi Burris; Aurora James of Brother Vellies; Paul Andrew

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Norma Kamali 

International Award: Alessandro Michele of Gucci 

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Donna Karan

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Imran Amed of Business of Fashion

Fashion Icon Award: Beyoncé

The Board of Directors’ Special Tribute: David Bowie

The page could not be loaded!