The 2017 CFDA Nominees Have Been Announced

More of the same, basically

The crop of designers and fashion luminaries nominated for this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards were announced tonight in New York. Set to take place on June 5 at Hammerstein Ballroom, the Awards—now in their 16th year—will feature a newly unified Swarovski Award, as well as an award for positive change. But mostly, the roster of nominees is pretty standard, save for two nominations for Raf Simons, one for Off-White’s Virgil Abloh, and one for Sies Marjan’s Sander Lak.

The nominees for the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Marc Jacobs, Jack McCullough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row. The Menswear Designer of the Year Award nominees are Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder. For the Accessory Designer of the Year Award, Coach’s Stuart Vevers, Mansur Gavriel’s Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, The Row’s Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Paul Andrew, and Irene Neuwirth are all in the running. (Last year, Jacobs took home the womenswear award, while Browne nabbed the menswear one and the Mansur Gavriel duo won for accessories.)

The Swarovski Award, which in the past has been segmented into three separate categories, will now be unified in one award. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent are Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan. 

The inaugural Swarovski Award for Positive Change will go to Kenneth Cole for his work in making a positive impact on American communities while improving the welfare of others. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Rick Owens, a four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner. The Founder’s Award will go to Pat McGrath, and the International Award will go to Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga. Finally, the Fashion Icon Award will be bestowed upon the late Franca Sozzani

Naturally, this year’s ceremony will also include a political element, with the Board of Directors’ Tribute going to Gloria Steinem, Janelle Monáe, and Planned Parenthood’s Cecile Richards for their contributions at the Women’s March

“This year’s nominees and honorees represent the best of American fashion,” CFDA president Steven Kolb said in a statement. “We are also excited to introduce the new Swarovski Award for Positive Change, which aligns with Swarovski and CFDA’s efforts in civic responsibility.” 

No word yet on whether this year’s awards will be televised or not. Nevertheless, watch this space to find out which heavy-hitters will take home the gold at what is essentially fashion’s equivalent of the Oscars. 

The page could not be loaded!